Orange County Blues Now Orange County SC

By JacksonScofield
Jan. 21, 2017

Orange County SC, the name by which the Los Angeles area United Soccer League team became known Friday, has had a less than stable history since its 2011 inauguration.

The team began as an offshoot of the Pali Blues women's team (defunct since 2014), debuting in the first season of the new USL in 2011 as the Los Angeles Blues.  At the time, the team played in Fullerton.  In 2014 the team moved to Irvine in Orange County as Orange County Blues FC.  For the 2017 season, the team will be Orange County SC.

The team's rebrand coincides with its affiliation with MLS side Los Angeles FC that will begin play in 2018.